Permanent and Year-by-Year Low Use EquipmentBased on the Regulation as of September 7, 2012

There are two regulatory provisions that could significantly affect (reduce) your compliance requirements: (1) low use equipment exemptions and (2) Captive Attainment Area Fleets.

The regulation treats low use equipment is one of two ways:

  1. Permanent Low Use
  2. Year-to-Year Low Use

Permanent Low Use

Year-by-Year Low Use

Captive Attainment Area Fleet

Captive Attainment Area fleets are fleets or parts of fleets that operate entirely in one or more of the following counties: Alpine, Colusa, Del Norte, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Monterey, Plumas, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Trinity, Tehama, Yuba, and the portion of Sonoma County that lies within the boundaries of the North Coast Air Basin. These fleets or fleet portions are classified as small fleets regardless of total hp of the fleet or fleet portion that operates entirely in the Captive Attainment counties. Note that there are special equipment labeling requirements for fleets that Captive Attainment Area equipment.